FAQS

SEtup

DO I HAVE TO TAKE OUT THE 'DOT ' CARDS? 

No. You can play a game with the full pack or half pack. Statistically, for 1-2 players, it is better to remove the dot cards so that there is a good flow of different cards. Nobody wants all the PUTTERS! With all the dot cards removed, scoring will be easier. The full pack plays a little harder.

HOW DO I LAYOUT THE FULL COURSE?

To layout, the full course, match the numbers on the (middle) sides of each HOLE card. If there is no number (just a circle), then it means it is an outer edge. Note: Every second row of cards are 180 degrees to the previous row. 

WHAT HAPPENS IF I GET TO THE BOTTOM OF A DISC OR ACTION STACK?

Reshuffle the appropriate discard pile and re-stack it.

WHAT IF I FORGET TO REFILL BACK TO 9 CARDS DURING PLAY?

If you forget to refill your HAND and other players have already refilled, or played cards, then indicate you need to refill and draw the appropriate amount of cards from the DISC and/or ACTION stacks.

MOVEMENT

CAN I MOVE DIAGONALLY?

No. Play is only up and down, or across, a HOLE card, moving diagonally is not permitted. Potentially as a result of a THROW, you can end up diagonally from your starting GRID (e.g. 1 Distance and 2 Fade). 

WHAT IF MY LANDING GRID IS OFF THE CARD?

If your landing GRID is off a card in a stack or full course layout, then your DISC is considered Out-of-Bounds (OB), and your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE. If you can apply a 'Green Flag' LUCK card, then your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with no +1 penalty added.

WHAT IF I LAND ON A WATER OR STRUCTURE GRID?

Both of these areas are considered Out-of-Bounds (OB), so your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE. If you can apply a 'Green Flag' LUCK card, then your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with no penalty.

WHAT IS A 'MANDO'?

MANDO stands for 'mandatory', as in an object that you must pass a certain way. Usually, it is an object your DISC must pass on a certain side, for safety or to not infringe onto another part of the course. Sometimes it is could also be an object you must go under.

For the sake of FINAL NINE, it is a GRID you must pass by on a certain corner. If you land before the corner (e.g. the GRID itself), or to the left or right (away) from the corner, you still then need to pass the corner correctly. It could take you about 2 THROWS to get back around, so try not to miss it! 

WHAT HAPPENS IF I MISS AN ISLAND?

If you don't land inside an ISLAND area from the TEE-PAD GRID (missed), you have to place your MARKER on the Drop-Zone (DZ) for your next THROW, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE. The Island line then disappears, and you play the rest of the HOLE as normal.

WHAT IS A 'DROP-IN'?

When a DRIVER or MID-RANGE DISC lands on the BASKET GRID, and a 'From Distance' card is not applied (from a HAND or INSTANT), then the next THROW is considered a DROP-IN. The next THROW is counted on the SCORE, and a legal THROW (drawing the next ACTION card) is not required. You have completed the HOLE. This movement is considered a reward for an accurate THROW.

WHAT HAPPENS IF I LAND ON A BUSHES GRID?

If you land on a BUSHES GRID, then your next THROW is from the same GRID, but your THROW will have -1 Distance applied unless your DISC has immunity to BUSHES (the line under the FLIGHT GRIDS). If you land on a GRID with a small TREE, these are not BUSHES, they are just decoration and do not affect FLIGHT. A CLUMP is also a BUSHES GRID, though it only takes up one GRID space.

SO THE '+' and '-' SYMBOLS ARE IMPORTANT?

Yes. The plus and minus symbols determine the direction of Fade for a DISC. They are important to note as that will be the direction you will go if a DEVIATION should occur, or if the WIND pushes your DISC that way. Keep note of what SKILL and LUCK cards you also have so you can add to or counter the movements in the Fade direction you need to go.


 

DISCS

HOW DO I PLAY A DISC ACROSS A CARD?

To play a DISC across a card, indicate your direction by playing the DISC on the discard pile facing the direction you wish to go, 90 degrees left or right. If you wish to play backwards, then turn the DISC 180 degrees.

 

 

WHAT ARE THE LINES AT THE BOTTOM + SIDE OF A FLIGHT GRID?

A line at the bottom of a FLIGHT GRID indicates that the DISC has immunity to BUSHES. It, therefore, isn't affected by the -1 Distance that BUSHES apply when making a THROW from them.

A line to the side (or end) of a FLIGHT GRID indicates that the DISC has immunity to WIND. The DISC isn't affected by any ACTION cards played that have the word 'wind' in the title (e.g. Strong Wind (DEVIATION), Head Wind (LUCK), etc.). The line on the end doesn't just mean it is resistant in that fade direction; it is immune to any WIND, including a PRO level game where the wind is determined before each hole.

 

 

WHY DO I HAVE TO PERFORM A THROW IF I PLAY A 'BOOM'' TYPE PUTTER CARD?

A legal THROW must always be performed unless it is a DROP-IN. So if you play a 'Boom' or 'Yes' style PUTTER card, then you must finish the HOLE by performing the THROW. The card type indicates the PUTT is IN. The action of the THROW also aids in the cycling of the cards, which an important function of the game.

 

 

WHAT IF I AM IN THE BUSHES AND MY PUTTER HAS NO IMMUNITY TO BUSHES?

A PUTTER that has no immunity to BUSHES cannot progress from the BUSHES unless a SKILL or LUCK card is applied (e.g., +1 Distance). You can still play the non-immune PUTTER, but your next THROW will be from the same GRID again, with 1 THROW added to your SCORE. At least then you can draw a new DISC.

WHAT IF I DON'T HAVE A PUTTER, OR I HAVE A PUTTER THAT WON'T LAND ON THE BASKET?

If you find yourself in the unfortunate situation of not having a PUTTER when you need to PUTT or have a PUTTER that won't land on the BASKET GRID, then you have found yourself in a 3 PUTT situation. These are not fun. Here are some solutions which may or may not be ideal:

[1] If you are playing 2-4 players, then TRADE another DISC for a PUTTER. It may come at a high cost.

[2] You can take a +1 penalty to your SCORE to draw a new DISC. Discard a DISC card and draw another. Do this as many times as you want, for the cost of +1 each.

[3] Play whatever DISC you can (including going backwards), then refill your HAND and hope you get a PUTTER.

[4] You may have to end up going OB. The BASKET may be right next to the OB, so then you can DROP-IN. If you have a 'Green Flag' LUCK card, use it.

Always remember that PUTTERS are important, and make sure you have one for those really tricky HOLES.

WHAT IF I DON'T HAVE A PUTTER AT THE START OF A HOLE?

If you don't have a PUTTER at the start of a HOLE, don't worry. You can, of course, swap up to 2 cards at the beginning of the HOLE. If that doesn't yield a PUTTER, remember you will be playing and refilling DISCS + ACTIONS all the way to the BASKET. A PUTTER should turn up. If not, you can TRADE or take a +1 penalty to your SCORE to draw a new DISC

CAN I MAKE A PUTT WITH A PUTTER BEYOND 3 GRIDS?

Yes. A PUTTER is like any other DISC. It can be modified to have more Distance or Fade. If you apply a +1 Distance to a 3 GRID PUTTER ,  then it becomes a 4 GRID PUTTER, and you can get to the BASKET GRID from farther away. Though, you cannot add SKILL or LUCK that has a 'Cross' SYMBOL.

SKILL

CAN I REALLY PLAY 'DRAW 2 NEW' AND 'DISC SWAP' ...ANYTIME?

Yes. These two SKILL cards are the exception to the rule of 'play before the THROW'. Play these cards whenever you want, to your advantage.

IF USING THE 'CHAMP' CARD, DO I FIND AND DRAW OUT THE SKILL CARD I WANT TO APPLY?

No. When playing the 'Champ' card, you can apply 1 SKILL effect you want without having the SKILL card you are copying. When playing the card announce the 1 effect you wish to use. You can even use it to apply a 'Draw 2 New' or 'Disc Swap' effect, though only before a THROW.

WHERE DO I GET THE DISC FROM FOR THE 'DISC SWAP'?

Once you have discarded the 'Disc Swap' card, you then look through the DISC discard pile and take whatever DISC you want. You can play this card anytime, so you can even use it straight after playing your favourite DISC to retrieve it for another THROW.

HOW DO I PLAY A 'FLIP' OR 'SWITCH' CARD?

The effect of the 'Flip' or 'Switch' SKILL card is to mirror the FLIGHT GRIDS of the DISC played, along the line of the Distance FLIGHT GRIDS (up the DISC card). The Fade GRIDS (if any) switch to the other side of the Distance GRIDS, and the '+' and '-' switch sides. 'Switch' SKILL cards are specific to Backhand (BH) and Forehand (FH) DISCS, as indicated on the cards.

CAN I USE THE ROLLER SKILL CARD OVER WATER?

Yes. This may seem strange as Rollers don't tend to float very well. Don't take the card too literally; it is intended to be a +1 Distance based on a method of getting more distance in DISC GOLF.

LUCK

CAN I PLAY A LUCK CARD ON AN INSTANT?

Yes. An INSTANT occurs from a THROW, and LUCK is applied after the THROW. So even if you get a 'From Distance' during the THROW, you can apply a LUCK card to potentially complete the HOLE.

HOW DOES THE 'GREEN FLAG' CARD WORK?

If your landing GRID is off a card or on a water or structure GRID, then your DISC is considered Out-of-Bounds (OB), and your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE. If you apply a 'Green Flag' LUCK card, then your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with no penalty. The card will not save you from missing an ISLAND though; you have to go to the Drop-Zone (DZ) if you miss, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE.

CAN I PLAY A LUCK CARD WITH A CROSS SYMBOL WITH A 'FROM DISTANCE', IF IT GOES IN?

A DRIVER or MID-RANGE DISC that goes in the BASKET using a 'From Distance' LUCK card is not considered a true PUTT, so therefore the Cross and Circle SYMBOLS are not in effect and can be applied. 

DEVIATIONS

WHY CAN'T I PLAY DEVIATIONS FROM MY HAND DURING STANDARD PLAY?

DEVIATIONS are one of the disrupters to the success of a THROW in FINAL NINE. Their function is to change the course of your THROW once you have released the DISC. When refilling your HAND or switching cards, you may pick up a DEVIATION (or 2) which now takes up space and can't be used, leaving you with a harder HAND to play. The DEVIATION has now successfully disrupted your plans again, making you think about how you play your cards, how you refill, and what to switch.

When it comes to playing BATTLE, this is when DEVIATIONS can be played from your HAND. You now become the disrupter to the plans of other players.     

WHAT HAPPENS IF I THROW A PUTTER AND GET A 'STRONG WIND' DEVIATION CARD?

If you draw a 'Strong Wind' or 'Close Tree Hit' DEVIATION card during a THROW, and you played a 2 GRID PUTTER, then the landing GRID will be to the side of the starting GRID. The side it lands depends on the DEVIATION drawn and the Fade direction of the PUTTER. If you threw a 2 GRID PUTTER with a Fade, then that Fade is also included to the side. Be careful what you THROW and when.

WHAT HAPPENS IF I DRAW A 'MISS PUTT' DEVIATION CARD?

If you draw a 'Miss Putt' type of DEVIATION card (e.g. Clang) when you are not PUTTING, it does not affect your THROW; it lands safely. 

If you draw a 'Miss Putt' type of DEVIATION when you are PUTTING (landing on the BASKET GRID), your PUTTER lands under the basket and your next THROW is a DROP-IN.  

If you are using a corner PUTTER (e.g. Swarm) and it is not going to land on the BASKET GRID, then a 'Miss Putt'  card does not affect.

CALLS

WHY CAN'T I PLAY CALLS FROM MY HAND DURING STANDARD PLAY?

As with DEVIATIONS explained above, CALLS are cards that are there to disrupt your best-laid plans. They can disrupt your THROW, and they can disrupt your HAND. When you play BATTLE, that is when you can disrupt other players best-laid plans to your advantage.

WHAT IS A 'CALL' IN DISC GOLF?

A 'Call' is when another player believes you are not playing by the rules and regulations of DISC GOLF, and says out loud to the group the infringement that occurred (e.g. Foot Fault, Falling Putt). The 'Call' needs to be made immediately after the offence and seconded by another player who also saw the offence. Once a 'Call' has been made (and confirmed) the THROW or PUTT result stays the same, but a +1 penalty is added to the offending player's SCORE.

WHY DOES A 'RED FLAG' CARD NOT RELATE TO OB?

The term 'Red Flag' in the game of FINAL NINE doesn't relate to landing Out-of-Bounds, simply for the sake of adding interest to the game, as well as trying to keep the term 'Red Flag'. If drawn from a THROW or applied during BATTLE RULES, play the effect written on the card. Draw and discard the next ACTION card and resolve it, though no LUCK card can be applied from an INSTANT or your HAND.

WHAT IF I GET 'NICED'?

Sometimes when you make a good THROW in DISC GOLF, another player may comment "nice" or "nice throw". Inevitably (due to superstition) straight after said comment your DISC tends to hit a tree or get hit by a bad wind.

In FINAL NINE if you get the 'Niced' card from a THROW, then all SKILL cards you may have played are nullified (eliminated) and removed from the OUTCOME of the DISC FLIGHT. A LUCK card can still be applied to adjust the OUTCOME again.

SCORING

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE 'SCORE TRACKER' AND THE 'SCORECARD'?

The SCORE Tracker card is used to track your overall SCORE as you progress through the game. After each HOLE you can move your MARKER dependant on how you scored (e.g. Move to -1 from 0 if you scored a BIRDIE, or +1 from 0 if you scored a Bogey). Don't move your MARKER if you scored a PAR. 

The SCORE card is used for reference for the overall course, and it's PARS. It is a permanent way of finding out how you played on each HOLE. You can choose to write on the card, though you can only do that once. If you want to print your own, download them HERE.

BATTLE RULES

HOW DO I USE A 'FLIP' OR 'SWITCH' SKILL CARD IN BATTLE RULES?

If applying from your HAND, then apply as normal on the ACTION discard pile. 

If drawn during a THROW, and you wish to apply it, then you can mirror the DISC FLIGHT including any DEVIATIONS applied by another player. Check first which 'Switch' card you draw, is it BH or FH?

HOW DO I USE A 'DRAW 2 NEW' SKILL CARD IF DRAWN DURING A THROW?

If you draw a 'Draw 2 New' during a THROW, then you can apply it if desired. Since the 'Draw 2 New' card has already been discarded, you can swap another card. Place the unwanted card on its respective discard pile and draw 2 new cards from the DISC and/or ACTION stacks.

WHAT HAPPENS IF I DRAW A 'DISC SWAP' SKILL CARD DURING A THROW?

If you draw a 'Disc Swap' during a THROW, then you can apply it if desired. Since the 'Disc Swap' card has already been discarded, find and draw a DISC from the discard pile. You may then not need to refill your HAND, but make sure you don't have more than 9 cards in your HAND when done.

HOW DOES A'RED FLAG' CALL CARD WORK WHEN PLAYED?

If a 'Red Flag' CALL card is played before a THROW, it makes the player it was played on THROW as normal (only turn one card), but they cannot apply any LUCK cards during or after the THROW (INSTANT or from your HAND). 

HOW DO I USE LUCK CARDS IN BATTLE RULES?

LUCK cards can be applied if you draw one during a THROW and/or from your HAND afterTHROW. Apply as many as desired.

WHAT HAPPENS IF A 'MISS PUTT' CARD IS PLAYED ON ME?

If another player plays a 'Miss Putt' card on you, it will only take effect if you are PUTTING. If so, the only way to nullify it is to draw a 'Legend' during the THROW or play one from your HAND after the THROW.

HOW DO WE REFILL BACK TO 9 CARDS AFTER A THROW?

The player who was THROWING refills first, followed by the player who played a DEVIATION or CALL card.

LEVELS OF PLAY

DOES WIND IN PRO LEVEL ALSO EFFECT PUTTING?

Yes. When playing, PRO level WIND effects all DISCS in all situations, unless it has immunity to WIND. PRO level is supposed to be hard, so you have to think about where to land your DISC for the PUTT.

WHAT IF PUTTING IS TOO DIFFICULT IN PRO LEVEL?

If you find that PUTTING is too difficult in PRO level, try adjusting the rules to suit your needs. You could change the rules that once within 2 GRIDS (in the circle) then WIND does not apply.

WHAT IF I USE A 2 GRID PUTTER IN THE WIND?

When using a PUTTER into the WIND, it has a -1 Distance applied. It will therefore not advance from the GRID you are on unless you use SKILL or LUCK. With the WIND a PUTTER will have +1 Distance applied. It is the same if you allow for Fade. Sometimes a PUTTER can go sideways. Strange yes, but correct under the Rules and Game Play.

WHAT IF IN PRO LEVEL AN OPPOSITE WIND CARD IS APPLIED?

If for example, you are playing PRO level with a Head WIND (-1 Distance or Fade into the WIND) and a Tail WIND card is applied (+1 Distance or Fade with the WIND) then the two WINDS nullify each other, and the DISC flight will remain as THROWN (unless it has immunity to WIND).

FINAL NINE 2020

c

Logo Mnkymnd.jpg