

ABOUT
FINAL NINE : A DISC GOLF CARD GAME is a compact and competitive card game based on the rules, equipment, features, design, and quirks of DISC GOLF. It's a game about making decisions, picking the best DISC, applying SKILL, avoiding TROUBLE [or CALLS], hoping for LUCK, and making the PUTT. It can be played over 9 HOLES, 18 HOLES, or Mega HOLES. It can be played with STANDARD or BATTLE rules, at a REC, AM or PRO Level of Play. You can use half the cards or double packs, play solo or up to 4 players per 18 HOLES.
In FINAL NINE, there are 3 categories of cards: HOLE, DISC, and ACTION. DISC cards include DRIVER, FAIRWAY, MID-RANGE, and PUTTER cards for Forehand and Backhand. ACTION cards include SKILL, DEVIATION, LUCK, and CALL cards. These cards interact throughout the game to change the FLIGHT and OUTCOME, but they are never shuffled together. The cards are colour-coded for quicker selection from your HAND, each with a corresponding card type ICON.
THE CARDS

THE CORE GAME
HOLE CARDS
HOLE cards are the HOLES for the course. Every HOLE is uniquely configured, with a mix of Par 3s, 4s, and 5s. You start from the TEE PAD GRID and THROW towards the BASKET GRID using the sequence outlined in the GAME PLAY. When you're within 2-3 GRIDS, PUTT to complete the HOLE, or take a chance FROM DISTANCE. The HOLE cards can be arranged in different LAYOUTS - the entire course, stacked in order, shuffled, or in lines as mega holes.
DISC CARDS
DISC cards are played first and must match the FLIGHT GRID pattern for a specific destination GRID. DISC cards include DRIVER, MID-RANGE, and PUTTER cards, each specific to Forehand or Backhand. The ARROW on the FLIGHT GRID signifies the current position, with GRIDS above the card indicating DISTANCE, [+] FADE allows addition, and [-] FADE moves in the opposite direction. Some DISCS are also immune to BUSHES, ROLLS, SKIPS or WIND.
ACTION CARDS
ACTION cards initiate the THROW and change a DISC FLIGHT. SKILL cards are used before a THROW. DEVIATION and CALL cards are drawn and used during a THROW. LUCK can be used after a THROW to adjust a FLIGHT or cancel a DEVIATION or CALL. SYMBOLS on certain cards indicate when they can be used. Some cannot be used during PUTTING, some can only be used when PUTTING, and some can be used instantly if drawn during a THROW.

EXPANSION PACK
HOLE CARDS
The EXPANSION PACK includes 2 additional courses with different difficulties: SUBURBAN and FOREST. The SUBURBAN course features ROADS, ROOFS, YARDS, and CLUMPS and is based on SKIPPING. The FOREST course features TIGHT LINES, SLOPES, CLUSTERS, and PONDS and is based on ROLLING.
DISC CARDS
The EXPANSION PACK introduces another category of DISC: FAIRWAY. The DISCS are Backhand and Forehand and tend to travel as far as MID-RANGE DISCS, but they are more understable than most DISCS. Some FAIRWAY can also fly diagonally, which help to bypass obstacles like FORESTS, CLUSTERS, or CLUMPS. Additionally, all FAIRWAY DISCS in the EXPANSION PACK are resistant to the SKIPPING of the SUBURBAN course or the ROLLING of the FOREST course.
ACTION CARDS
The EXPANSION PACK includes course-specific ACTION cards. The SKILLS, DEVIATIONS, CALLS, and LUCK on the SUBURBAN course are based on its SKIPPING nature. Meanwhile, the ACTION cards in the FOREST are based more on the tree-lined and ROLLING aspects of the course.
CHARACTERS
The EXPANSION PACK includes 4 double-sided team CHARACTER cards along with matching MEEPLES. At the start of a round, you have the option of choosing a CHARACTER and a card side. Each CHARACTER has 2 abilities, one of which can be used once per 9 HOLES. The abilities vary for each CHARACTER. After using an ability, turn the card sideways and after 9 HOLES, return it to the upright position to use again.
EXTRAS
Additional EXPANSIONS can be added to the CORE GAME or EXPANSION PACK. CHAIN LINKS can be applied once a PUTT or 'From Distance' LANDS on the BASKET GRID to find out if the PUTT is IN. Add the BAD FORM DEVIATION cards to make the GAME PLAY harder. MISCHIEF cards can be added to BATTLE rules as a one-off 'take-that'. While an additional ACE RUN game can be played, to see which PLAYER can get the most ACES from 1 THROW per HOLE over 9 specific HOLES.
HOW TO PLAY
In FINAL NINE, the goal is to get your DISC from the TEE PAD to the BASKET in the least number of THROWS, using SKILL and a bit of LUCK. GAME PLAY follows a sequence of actions, within which the players make their decisions. Each player has a hand of 9 cards, made up of DISC or ACTION cards, and uses them to determine their FLIGHT and LANDING GRID for each THROW. Players choose their DISC, add SKILL if desired, and then THROW, while watching out for DEVIATIONS and CALLS.
CORE GAME
EXPANSION PACK
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
SETUP
DO I HAVE TO TAKE OUT THE 'DOT ' CARDS?
No. You can play a game with the full pack or half pack from the CORE game. Statistically, for 1-2 players, it is better to remove the dot cards so that there is a good flow of different cards. Nobody wants all the PUTTERS! With all the dot cards removed, scoring will be easier. The full pack plays a little harder.
HOW DO I LAYOUT A FULL COURSE?
To layout a full course, match the numbers on the (middle) sides of each HOLE card. If there is no number (just a circle), then it means it is an outer edge. Note: Every second row of cards are 180 degrees to the previous row.
WHEN REFILLING MY HAND DO I HAVE TO REDRAW FROM THE SAME STACK?
No. When refilling your HAND after discarding 2 cards at the beginning of a HOLE, or after playing cards, you can choose to redraw from either stack (e.g play a DISC, then redraw an ACTION or a DISC). You may choose to have 9 DISCS in your HAND if you want. Any combination of cards is allowed as long as there are 9.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I GET TO THE BOTTOM OF A DISC OR ACTION STACK?
Reshuffle the appropriate discard pile and re-stack it.
WHAT IF I FORGET TO REFILL BACK TO 9 CARDS DURING PLAY?
If you forget to refill your HAND and other players have already refilled, or played cards, then indicate you need to refill and draw the appropriate amount of cards from the DISC and/or ACTION stacks.
HOW DO I SET UP THE SUBURBAN OR FOREST COURSES FROM THE EXPANSION PACK?
Setting out either the SUBURBAN or FOREST courses is the same as setting out the PARK course, as mentioned above. The difference is that you shuffle in the specific SUBURBAN or FOREST course DISC and ACTION cards into their respective stacks. After the play is finished, you can take them out again.
HOW DO I KNOW THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN SUBURBAN AND FOREST COURSE CARDS?
Both the SUBURBAN and FOREST course DISC and ACTION cards are marked with their own icons as shown in the rule booklets. They also both have a different image spanning the background of the card. The SUBURBAN course CARDS have a Streetscape, and the FOREST course CARDS have a Forest Treeline.
MOVEMENT
CAN I MOVE DIAGONALLY?
In general No. Play is only up and down, or across, a HOLE card, moving diagonally is not permitted with most DISC cards. Potentially, as a result of a THROW, you can end up diagonally from your starting GRID (e.g. 1 Distance and 2 Fade). The only exception to this rule is when you use one of the 2 Fairway DISCS or 2 Putters on the FOREST course, which is included with the EXPANSION Pack.
HOW DO I PLAY A DISC THAT FLIES DIAGONALLY?
If you are playing the FOREST course, which is included with the EXPANSION Pack, the flight of a 'diagonal' DISC card is the same as a normal DISC card. The difference is, do not include any GRIDS that the diagonal FLIGHT pattern does not cover. This is helpful when trying to navigate around the dense FOREST. When adding ACTIONS that can change the DISC FLIGHT, these are applied to the end of the FLIGHT pattern and as if they were linear up/down or across the course, not diagonal.
CAN I MOVE DOWN A HOLE CARD?
Yes. In the 1st Edition rulebook it states you can go 'up' the card, this was supposed to read as 'up/down' the card. In the 2nd Edition rulebook it states up/down' the card. Turn your chosen DISC card to indicate which direction you are travelling.
CAN I TEE-OFF SIDEWAYS?
Yes. Turn your chosen DISC card to indicate which direction you want to TEE-OFF. Beware of your DISC FLIGHT including ISLANDS, Out-of-Bounds, and MANDOS you may have to get around properly.
WHAT IF MY LANDING GRID IS OFF THE CARD?
If your landing GRID is off a card in a stack or full course layout, then your DISC is considered Out-of-Bounds (OB), and your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE. If you can apply a 'Green Flag' LUCK card, then your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with no +1 penalty added.
WHAT IF I LAND ON A WATER OR STRUCTURE GRID?
Both of these areas are considered Out-of-Bounds (OB), so your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE. If you can apply a 'Green Flag' LUCK card, then your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with no penalty.
WHAT IF THE FLIGHT OF THE DISC GOES OVER A STRUCTURE GRID?
If the FLIGHT of a DISC is determined to go over a GRID with an OB Structure then it will not be Out-of-Bounds. OB only happens when your DISC lands inside the GRID. Imagine you put enough height on your THROW to clear it.
WHAT IS A 'MANDO'?
MANDO stands for 'mandatory', as in an object that you must pass a certain way. Usually, it is an object your DISC must pass on a certain side, for safety or to not infringe onto another part of the course. Sometimes it is could also be an object you must go under.
For the sake of FINAL NINE, it is a GRID you must pass by on a certain corner. If you land before the corner (e.g. the GRID itself), or to the left or right (away) from the corner, you still then need to pass the corner correctly. It could take you about 2 THROWS to get back around, so try not to miss it!
WHAT HAPPENS IF I MISS AN ISLAND?
If you don't land inside an ISLAND area from the TEE-PAD GRID (missed) in 1 THROW, you have to place your MARKER on the Drop-Zone (DZ) for your next THROW, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE. The Island line then disappears, and you play the rest of the HOLE as normal, even if you go iff the original ISLAND.
WHAT IS A 'DROP-IN'?
When a DRIVER or MID-RANGE DISC lands on the BASKET GRID, and a 'From Distance' card is not applied (from a HAND or INSTANT), then the next THROW is considered a DROP-IN. The next THROW is counted on the SCORE, and a legal THROW (drawing the next ACTION card) is not required. You have completed the HOLE. This movement is considered a reward for an accurate THROW.
SO THE '+' and '-' SYMBOLS ARE IMPORTANT?
Yes. The plus and minus symbols determine the direction of Fade for a DISC. They are important to note as that will be the direction you will go if a DEVIATION should occur, or if the WIND pushes your DISC that way. Keep note of what SKILL and LUCK cards you also have so you can add to or counter the movements in the Fade direction you need to go.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I LAND ON A BUSHES GRID?
If you land on a BUSHES GRID, then your next THROW is from the same GRID, but your THROW will have -1 Distance applied unless your DISC has immunity to BUSHES (the line under the FLIGHT GRIDS). If you land on a GRID with a small TREE, these are not BUSHES, they are just decoration and do not affect FLIGHT. A CLUMP is also a BUSHES GRID, though it only takes up one GRID space.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I LAND ON A ROAD GRID?
ROADS are a feature on the SUBURBAN course from the EXPANSION pack. If a DISC lands on a ROAD GRID, it will gain +1 in the FLIGHT direction, unless it has immunity to SKIPS indicated by the 'dot' in the middle of the FLIGHT pattern. If a DISC comes to rest on a ROAD GRID it is OB.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I LAND ON A ROOFS GRID?
ROOFS are a feature on the SUBURBAN course from the EXPANSION pack. If a DISC lands on a ROOF GRID, use the ROOFS reference card to determine which direction the DISC lands. If the DISC lands on a ROOF again, repeat the process.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I LAND ON A FOREST GRID?
The FOREST is a feature on the FOREST course from the EXPANSION pack. If a DISC goes through a FOREST GRID, it will land on the first FOREST grid upon entering. The next THROW is from that grid with a -1 Distance applied. If the next grid is a FOREST grid also, repeat the process.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I LAND ON A SLOPE GRID?
SLOPES are a feature on the FOREST course from the EXPANSION pack. If a DISC lands on a SLOPE GRID, it will gain +1 in the FLIGHT direction, unless it has immunity to ROLLS indicated by the 'dot' in the middle of the FLIGHT pattern. If the BASKET is also on a SLOPE GRID (Sloped Basket) and your DISC lands under the BASKET, the DISC will ROLL back 1 GRID from the DISC FLIGHT, even during PUTTING.
WHAT HAPPENS WITH CLUSTERS?
CLUSTERS are a feature on the FOREST course from the EXPANSION pack. If a DISC lands on a CLUSTER GRID, it will have -1 Distance applied when playing from the CLUSTER. If going through a CLUSTER, use the CLUSTER reference card to determine your OUTCOME. If the DISC goes through another CLUSTER, repeat the process.
DISCS
HOW DO I PLAY A DISC ACROSS OR DOWN A CARD?
To play a DISC across a card, indicate your direction by playing the DISC on the discard pile facing the direction you wish to go, 90 degrees left or right. If you wish to play backwards or down, then turn the DISC 180 degrees.
WHAT ARE THE LINES AT THE BOTTOM + SIDE OF A FLIGHT GRID?
A line at the bottom of a FLIGHT GRID indicates that the DISC has immunity to BUSHES. It, therefore, isn't affected by the -1 Distance that BUSHES apply when making a THROW from them.
A line to the side (or end) of a FLIGHT GRID indicates that the DISC has immunity to WIND. The DISC isn't affected by any ACTION cards played that have the word 'wind' in the title (e.g. Strong Wind (DEVIATION), Head Wind (LUCK), etc.). The line on the end doesn't just mean it is resistant in that fade direction; it is immune to any WIND, including a PRO level game where the wind is determined before each hole.
WHAT IS A 'BOOM' OR 'NAIL'D IT' TYPE OF PUTTER?
The special types of PUTTERS that automatically go in (or are part of a Character Card ability) are played the same way that a GRID PUTTER is played (do not play another PUTTER first). If you are within the distance stated on the card, the PUTT is automatically in, but you still draw the next ACTION card as a THROW. If the PUTTER card states any immunity, then also apply that to the THROW. Usually, there is no effect on the THROW, because you nail'd it!
WHY DO I HAVE TO PERFORM A THROW IF I PLAY A 'BOOM'' TYPE PUTTER CARD?
A legal THROW must always be performed unless it is a DROP-IN. So if you play a 'Boom' or 'Yes' style PUTTER card, then you must finish the HOLE by performing the THROW. The card type indicates the PUTT is IN. The action of the THROW also aids in the cycling of the cards, which an important function of the game.
WHAT IF I AM IN THE BUSHES AND MY PUTTER HAS NO IMMUNITY TO BUSHES?
A PUTTER that has no immunity to BUSHES cannot progress from the BUSHES unless a SKILL or LUCK card is applied (e.g., +1 Distance). You can still play the non-immune PUTTER, but your next THROW will be from the same GRID again, with 1 THROW added to your SCORE. At least then you can draw a new DISC.
WHAT IF I DON'T HAVE A PUTTER, OR I HAVE A PUTTER THAT WON'T LAND ON THE BASKET?
If you find yourself in the unfortunate situation of not having a PUTTER when you need to PUTT or have a PUTTER that won't land on the BASKET GRID, then you have found yourself in a 3 PUTT situation. These are not fun. Here are some solutions which may or may not be ideal:
[1] If you are playing 2-4 players, then TRADE another DISC for a PUTTER. It may come at a high cost.
[2] You can take a +1 penalty to your SCORE to draw a new DISC. Discard a DISC card and draw another. Do this as many times as you want, for the cost of +1 each.
[3] Play whatever DISC you can (including going backwards), then refill your HAND and hope you get a PUTTER.
[4] You may have to end up going OB. The BASKET may be right next to the OB, so then you can DROP-IN. If you have a 'Green Flag' LUCK card, use it.
Always remember that PUTTERS are important, and make sure you have one for those really tricky HOLES.
WHAT IF I DON'T HAVE A PUTTER AT THE START OF A HOLE?
If you don't have a PUTTER at the start of a HOLE, don't worry. You can, of course, swap up to 2 cards at the beginning of the HOLE. If that doesn't yield a PUTTER, remember you will be playing and refilling DISCS + ACTIONS all the way to the BASKET. A PUTTER should turn up. If not, you can TRADE or take a +1 penalty to your SCORE to draw a new DISC.
CAN I MAKE A PUTT WITH A PUTTER BEYOND 3 GRIDS?
Yes. A PUTTER is like any other DISC. It can be modified to have more Distance or Fade. If you apply a +1 Distance to a 3 GRID PUTTER, then it becomes a 4 GRID PUTTER, and you can get to the BASKET GRID from farther away. Though, you cannot add SKILL or LUCK that has a 'Cross' SYMBOL.
WHAT IS THE DOT AT THE TOP OF A FLIGHT PATTERN?
Some DISC cards included in the EXPANSION pack have a 'dot' shown in the top-middle GRID of the FLIGHT pattern. On the SUBURBAN course, the 'dot' FLIGHT pattern DISCS are immune to SKIPS, which means they cannot SKIP off the ground, a ROAD, or a ROOF, or have an ACTION card with 'skip' in its name applied. On the FOREST course, the 'dot' FLIGHT pattern DISCS are immune to ROLLS, which means SLOPED surfaces, or ACTION cards with 'roll' in their name have no effect.
SKILL
CAN I REALLY PLAY 'DRAW 2 NEW' AND 'DISC SWAP' ...ANYTIME?
Yes. These two SKILL cards are the exception to the rule of 'play before the THROW'. Play these cards whenever you want, to your advantage.
IF USING THE 'CHAMP' CARD, DO I FIND AND DRAW OUT THE SKILL CARD I WANT TO APPLY?
No. When playing the 'Champ' card, you can apply 1 SKILL effect you want without having the SKILL card you are copying. When playing the card announce the 1 effect you wish to use. You can even use it to apply a 'Draw 2 New' or 'Disc Swap' effect, though only before a THROW.
CAN I USE THE 'CHAMP' CARD TO DO A 'DISC SWAP' or 'DRAW 2 NEW'?
Yes. The 'Champ' card is a substitute card for any SKILL card, so a 'Disc Swap' or a 'Draw 2 New' can also be applied if desired.
WHERE DO I GET THE DISC FROM FOR THE 'DISC SWAP'?
Once you have discarded the 'Disc Swap' card, you then look through the DISC discard pile and take whatever DISC you want. You can play this card anytime, so you can even use it straight after playing your favourite DISC to retrieve it for another THROW.
HOW DO I PLAY A 'FLIP' OR 'SWITCH' CARD?
The effect of the 'Flip' or 'Switch' SKILL card is to mirror the FLIGHT GRIDS of the DISC played, along the line of the Distance FLIGHT GRIDS (up the DISC card). The Fade GRIDS (if any) switch to the other side of the Distance GRIDS, and the '+' and '-' switch sides. 'Switch' SKILL cards are specific to Backhand (BH) and Forehand (FH) DISCS, as indicated on the cards.
CAN I USE THE ROLLER SKILL CARD OVER WATER?
Yes, in the 1st Edition. This may seem strange as Rollers don't tend to float very well. Don't take the card too literally; it is intended to be a +1 Distance based on a method of getting more distance in DISC GOLF.
No, in the 2nd Edition. The Roller is still +1 Distance, though it can no longer cross water.
IF USING THE 'CHAMP' CARD, WHAT ARE THE CURRENT SKILL CARDS?
FLIP : Mirror the Flight Direction of the Disc
SWITCH : Change Forehand to Backhand
SWITCH : Change Backhand to Forehand
CONTROL : +1 Distance or -1 Distance
FLEX SHOT : +1 Distance
ROLLER : +1 Distance
THUMBER : -1 Distance / Immune Bushes
INVERTED : -1 Distance
LAYUP : +1 Fade or -1 Fade
HYZER : +1 Fade / Immune Wind
ANHYZER : -1 Fade
OVERSTABLE : +1 Fade and Immune Wind
UNDERSTABLE : -1 Fade
DRAW 2 NEW : Discard this Card and another any time then Draw 2 Cards
DISC SWAP : Discard this Card at any time and Draw 1 Disc from the Discard Pile
RESET : Discard this Card at any time then pull 1 Putter from the Discard Pile (Forest course only)
BLADE : +1 Fade or +1 Distance and Over Clusters (Forest course only)
TURN : -1 Fade or -2 Fade (Forest course only)
360 : +2 Distance (Optional add-in only)
LUCK
CAN I PLAY A LUCK CARD ON AN INSTANT?
Yes. An INSTANT occurs from a THROW, and LUCK is applied after the THROW. So even if you get a 'From Distance' during the THROW, you can apply a LUCK card to potentially complete the HOLE.
HOW DOES THE 'GREEN FLAG' CARD WORK?
If your landing GRID is off a card or on a water or structure GRID, then your DISC is considered Out-of-Bounds (OB), and your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE. If you apply a 'Green Flag' LUCK card, then your next THROW is from the last safe (in-bound) GRID before you went OB, with no penalty. The card will not save you from missing an ISLAND though; you have to go to the Drop-Zone (DZ) if you miss, with a +1 penalty to your SCORE.
CAN I PLAY A LUCK CARD WITH A CROSS SYMBOL WITH A 'FROM DISTANCE', IF IT GOES IN?
A DRIVER or MID-RANGE DISC that goes in the BASKET using a 'From Distance' LUCK card is not considered a true PUTT, so therefore the Cross and Circle SYMBOLS are not in effect and can be applied.
HOW DO THE 'FORWARD ROLL' AND 'CURL BACK' LUCK CARDS WORK?
Both of these LUCK cards come from the EXPANSION pack. The 'Forward Roll' LUCK card is included in the FOREST course, and the 'Curl Back' card is an EXTRA 'add-in' if desired. Both ACTION cards can be played as normal LUCK cards, except that both allow the DISC to move 1 more GRID after the DISC has landed. Apply the extra movement from the landing GRID based on the FLIGHT direction.
DEVIATIONS
WHY CAN'T I PLAY DEVIATIONS FROM MY HAND DURING STANDARD PLAY ON THE PARK OR SUBURBAN COURSES?
DEVIATIONS are one of the disrupters to the success of a THROW in FINAL NINE. Their function is to change the course of your THROW once you have released the DISC. When refilling your HAND or switching cards, you may pick up a DEVIATION (or 2) which now takes up space and can't be used, leaving you with a harder HAND to play. The DEVIATION has now successfully disrupted your plans again, making you think about how you play your cards, how you refill, and what to switch.
Just remember though, if DEVIATIONS are in your HAND, they aren't in the stack ready to disrupt your THROW. Therefore, the odds of a successful THROW are better.
When it comes to playing BATTLE, this is when DEVIATIONS can be played from your HAND. You now become the disruptor to the plans of other players.
CAN DEVIATION CARDS BE PLAYED FROM YOUR HAND ON THE FOREST COURSE?
Yes. The FOREST course is the hardest of the 3 courses as it is dense and the FLIGHT directions are tight. Therefore, before a THROW, SKILL and DEVIATION cards can be played from your HAND. Apply DEVIATION cards as you would any SKILL card. Then, during the THROW apply any cards drawn as normal.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I THROW A PUTTER AND GET A 'STRONG WIND' DEVIATION CARD?
If you draw a 'Strong Wind' or 'Close Tree Hit' DEVIATION card during a THROW, and you played a 2 GRID PUTTER, then the landing GRID will be to the side of the starting GRID. The side it lands depends on the DEVIATION drawn and the Fade direction of the PUTTER. If you threw a 2 GRID PUTTER with a Fade, then that Fade is also included to the side. Be careful what you THROW and when.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I DRAW A 'MISS PUTT' DEVIATION CARD?
If you draw a 'Miss Putt' type of DEVIATION card (e.g. Clang) when you are not PUTTING, it does not affect your THROW; it lands safely.
If you draw a 'Miss Putt' type of DEVIATION when you are PUTTING (landing on the BASKET GRID), your PUTTER lands under the basket and your next THROW is a DROP-IN.
If you are using a corner PUTTER (e.g. Swarm) and it is not going to land on the BASKET GRID, then a 'Miss Putt' card does not affect it.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I DRAW A '1 GRID AWAY' DEVIATION CARD?
If you draw a '1 Grid Away' type of DEVIATION card (e.g. Argh) when you are not PUTTING, it does not affect your THROW; it lands safely.
If you draw a '1 Grid Away' type of DEVIATION when you are PUTTING (landing on the BASKET GRID), your PUTTER lands 1 GRID away along the DISC FLIGHT instead, and not under the BASKET.
CALLS
WHY CAN'T I PLAY CALLS FROM MY HAND DURING STANDARD PLAY?
As with DEVIATIONS explained above, CALLS are cards that are there to disrupt your best-laid plans. They can disrupt your THROW, and they can disrupt your HAND. When you play BATTLE, that is when you can disrupt other players best-laid plans to your advantage.
WHAT IS A 'CALL' IN DISC GOLF?
A 'Call' is when another player believes you are not playing by the rules and regulations of DISC GOLF, and says out loud to the group the infringement that occurred (e.g. Foot Fault, Falling Putt). The 'Call' needs to be made immediately after the offence and seconded by another player who also saw the offence. Once a 'Call' has been made (and confirmed) the THROW or PUTT result stays the same, but a +1 penalty is added to the offending player's SCORE.
WHY DOES A 'RED FLAG' CARD NOT RELATE TO OB?
The term 'Red Flag' in the game of FINAL NINE doesn't relate to landing Out-of-Bounds, simply for the sake of adding interest to the game, as well as trying to keep the term 'Red Flag'. If drawn from a THROW or applied during BATTLE RULES, play the effect written on the card. Draw and discard the next ACTION card and resolve it, though no LUCK card can be applied from an INSTANT or your HAND.
WHAT IF I GET 'NICED'?
Sometimes when you make a good THROW in DISC GOLF, another player may comment "nice" or "nice throw". Inevitably (due to superstition) straight after said comment your DISC tends to hit a tree or get hit by a bad wind.
In FINAL NINE if you get the 'Niced' card from a THROW, then all SKILL cards you may have played are nullified (eliminated) and removed from the OUTCOME of the DISC FLIGHT. A LUCK card can still be applied to adjust the OUTCOME again.
SCORING
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE 'SCORE TRACKER' AND THE 'SCORECARD'?
The SCORE Tracker card is used to track your overall SCORE as you progress through the game. After each HOLE you can move your MARKER dependant on how you scored (e.g. Move to -1 from 0 if you scored a BIRDIE, or +1 from 0 if you scored a Bogey). Don't move your MARKER if you scored a PAR.
The SCORE card is used for reference for the overall course, and it's PARS. It is a permanent way of finding out how you played on each HOLE. You can choose to write on the card, though you can only do that once. If you want to print your own, download them HERE.
LEVELS OF PLAY
DOES WIND IN PRO LEVEL ALSO EFFECT PUTTING?
Yes. When playing, PRO level WIND effects all DISCS in all situations, unless it has immunity to WIND. PRO level is supposed to be hard, so you have to think about where to land your DISC for the PUTT.
WHAT IF PUTTING IS TOO DIFFICULT IN PRO LEVEL?
If you find that PUTTING is too difficult in PRO level, try adjusting the rules to suit your needs. You could change the rules that once within 2 GRIDS (in the circle) then WIND does not apply.
WHAT IF I USE A 2 GRID PUTTER IN THE WIND?
When using a PUTTER into the WIND, it has a -1 Distance applied. It will therefore not advance from the GRID you are on unless you use SKILL or LUCK. With the WIND a PUTTER will have +1 Distance applied. It is the same if you allow for Fade. Sometimes a PUTTER can go sideways. Strange yes, but correct under the Rules and Game Play.
WHAT IF IN PRO LEVEL AN OPPOSITE WIND CARD IS APPLIED?
If for example, you are playing PRO level with a Head WIND (-1 Distance or Fade into the WIND) and a Tail WIND card is applied (+1 Distance or Fade with the WIND) then the two WINDS nullify each other, and the DISC flight will remain as THROWN (unless it has immunity to WIND).
BATTLE RULES
HOW DO I USE A 'FLIP' OR 'SWITCH' SKILL CARD IN BATTLE RULES?
If applying from your HAND, then apply as normal on the ACTION discard pile. If drawn during a THROW, and you wish to apply it, then you can mirror the DISC FLIGHT including any DEVIATIONS applied by another player. Check first which 'Switch' card you draw, is it BH or FH?
HOW DO I USE A 'DRAW 2 NEW' SKILL CARD IF DRAWN DURING A THROW?
If you draw a 'Draw 2 New' during a THROW, then you can apply it if desired. Since the 'Draw 2 New' card has already been discarded, you can swap another card. Place the unwanted card on its respective discard pile and draw 2 new cards from the DISC and/or ACTION stacks.
WHAT HAPPENS IF I DRAW A 'DISC SWAP' SKILL CARD DURING A THROW?
If you draw a 'Disc Swap' during a THROW, then you can apply it if desired. Since the 'Disc Swap' card has already been discarded, find and draw a DISC from the discard pile. You may then not need to refill your HAND, but make sure you don't have more than 9 cards in your HAND when done.
HOW DOES A'RED FLAG' CALL CARD WORK WHEN PLAYED?
If a 'Red Flag' CALL card is played before a THROW, it makes the player it was played on THROW as normal (only turn one card), but they cannot apply any LUCK cards during or after the THROW (INSTANT or from your HAND).
HOW DO I USE LUCK CARDS IN BATTLE RULES?
LUCK cards can be applied if you draw one during a THROW and/or from your HAND after a THROW. Apply as many as desired.
WHAT HAPPENS IF A 'MISS PUTT' CARD IS PLAYED ON ME?
If another player plays a 'Miss Putt' card on you, it will only take effect if you are PUTTING. If so, the only way to nullify it is to draw a 'Legend' during the THROW or play one from your HAND after the THROW.
HOW DO WE REFILL BACK TO 9 CARDS AFTER A THROW?
The player who was THROWING refills first, followed by the player who played a DEVIATION or CALL card.
CHARACTERS
HOW DO I USE A CHARACTER CARD?
CHARACTER cards are included in the EXPANSION pack. Each TEAM card has 2 CHARACTERS, 1 on each side. At the beginning of a round, you can choose a TEAM card and a CHARACTER side of the card. During a round, you can use 1 of your CHARACTER abilities once per 9 HOLES. Rotate the card sideways to indicate you have applied the ability. After 9 HOLES, place the card back in the upright position to use again on the next 9 HOLES.
HOW DO I APPLY THE 'PUTTER' ABILITY?
The CHARACTER card 'Putter' ability can be applied when you are ready to PUTT during a round. The ability is applied like any other automatic PUTT (e.g. Boom or Nail'd it) DISC card, and you do not need to discard another PUTTER card. Turn your CHARACTER card sideways and apply the effect.
I HAVE THE TEAM K-STAR CHARACTER CARDS. WHY ARE THEY DIFFERENT?
The TEAM K-STAR CHARACTER cards were a Kickstarter Promotion during the campaign. They differ from the CHARACTER cards in the EXPANSION pack in that they are single-sided and they all have 3 abilities, instead of 2. They are also useful for playing doubles and sharing abilities as a TEAM.
EXPANSIONS
HOW DO I USE THE CHAIN LINKS EXPANSION?
When playing the CHAIN LINKS expansion, use the CHAINS reference card during the round. When you PUTT, or are 'In From Distance', follow the instructions on the card to see if the BASKET held the DISC or spat it out again. This expansion adds a new level to completing a HOLE.
HOW DO I USE THE ANGLE CTRL EXPANSION?
When playing ANGLE CTRL, use the ANGLE reference card during the round. When you set up your THROW (before the THROW), discard extra DISCS from your hand to add more SKILL. The DISCS to discard are shown as colours which relate to the DISC types. When refilling after the THROW, fill back up to 9 cards. This expansion adds more SKILL and helps to recycle cards quickly.
HOW DO I USE THE BAD FORM EXPANSION?
When playing BAD FORM, shuffle the 6 ACTION cards into the ACTION stack. During GAMEPLAY, apply the ACTION cards like any DEVIATION card. This expansion makes the game a little harder to play.
HOW DO I PLAY THE ACE RUN EXPANSION?
The ACE RUN expansion is an alternate game where you are trying to get the most 'Aces' (holes-in-one) in a round. The expansion involves using only 9 HOLES from the CORE game, using only longer DISCS. and only certain ACTION cards. You also add in 5 special ACE RUN ACTION cards that can help you get more 'Aces'. Beware, even when you get the DISC in on 1 THROW, it may not stick!
HOW DO I USE THE MISCHIEF EXPANSION?
The MISCHIEF expansion is used only with BATTLE rules. Each player draws a MISHIEF card before the round. The ability on the card can be used only once during the round, and only on another player. This expansion adds even more mischief to the game.
HOW DO I USE THE TEE OFF EXPANSION?
The TEE OFF expansion was a Kickstarter Promotion during the reprint campaign. Before the round starts, each player flicks one of their marker DISCS at the BASKET meeple from the same position. The closest to the BASKET is the FIRST player, and they also receive the double-sided 'Mulligan/In the Bag' card to use one powerful ability once during the round. This expansion is a mini-game before the actual game.
WILL THE TEE OFF EXPANSION BE MADE AVAILABLE AT A LATER DATE?
Possibly Yes. It was an incentive for backers to join early during the reprint campaign. We don't want to go back on our 'exclusive' promise, though; we would also like to make sure everyone has the opportunity to own all the expansions. In the future, we may allow the TEE OFF expansion to be sold through our store. Watch this space.
WHY ARE THERE EXTRA CARDS IN THE EXPANSION PACK?
If you have the EXPANSION pack, you may have noticed there are 4 'extra' cards, all marked with a 'plus' icon. These are extra cards that have been added to the pack and can be included in GAMEPLAY, or not. They all have bigger effects than the majority of the other DISC and ACTION cards, like adding more distance, making a big PUTT, moving the DISC after it lands, or getting 'Tombstoned' and having to discard your whole HAND.
